Survey

The first project we have been given in our second year contemporary art module is ‘Survey’.

A ‘survey’ is a systematic collecting of data. That data can be many things, for instance – in relation to a public building a whole range of information can be gleaned, from the materials used in its construction or the contents of its interiors, to the opinions of those that use it. A survey then is a close observation in order to generate the data to then analyse and develop.

At first I was a little unsure about what to do and where to go. I was nervous also as this is the first project I have been given since I took a year out due to illness. One thing I want to use is photography. I am a fan of black and white documentary photography. In year one, I looked at the photographer Eugene Richards’ work. Most of my work included his work.

Here is my mind map of my initial ideas and research for ‘Survey’. mindmap 1

Leave a Reply

